2023 President’s Annual Report
York faculty recognized by several prestigious research and scholarship programs
Right the Future

York researchers and scholars recognized for their contributions to purposeful research

York has expanded its extraordinary scholarship and research excellence with the addition of 14 new and 11 renewed Canada Research Chairs (CRC). The CRCs are leading critical research in AI, health, sustainability and social justice. Antony Chum, an assistant professor in the Faculty of Health was awarded a CRC Tier II in Population Health Data Science. Chum is investigating the epidemiology of deaths and diseases of despair as a unified phenomenon.

Eight researchers were also announced as York Research Chairs (YRC), York’s internal counterpart for the CRC program. Shital Desai, an assistant professor in Interaction Design at AMPD, was awarded a YRC in Accessible Interaction Design. Her research pursues human-centered design systems with a focus on people with dementia, caregivers and health care practitioners.

The Royal Society of Canada, which recognizes leading intellectuals, scholars and artists, welcomed four new fellows and two members from York, including Faculty of Education Professor Celia Haig-Brown, an Anglo-Canadian scholar committed to developing respectful approaches to working with Indigenous collaborators.

CIFAR, a global research organization, also announced three new fellows from York, including York Faculty of Science Professor Hélène Mialet  as co-director of CIFAR’s Future Flourishing program which examines the definition of being human.